Daniel Biro ‘Songs Of Refuge’



Polymath artist Daniel Biro returns with his first ever collection of songs. Written over a period of 20 years, the 14 songs are an ambient, Fender Rhodes-led, journey through melancholic worlds and dark emotional landscapes. After releasing a series of experimental electronic instrumental albums, along with an album with his psychedelic jazz band, Mysteries Of The Revolution, Biro returned to his love of song-writing to produce a very personal, intimate album with plenty of sonic experimentation. Influences include David Sylvian, Scott Walker, Brian Eno and Portishead. The album features Biro on all instruments and vocals, except for a few guitar interventions by long-term collaborator Rob Palmer, and was mastered by award-winning engineer Mandy Parnell (Bjork, Brian Eno, John Martyn). Apart from Biro’s voice, the common thread throughout the album is the Fender Rhodes electric piano, whose bell-like tones in repetitive patterns create fitting mesmerising soundscapes. In addition, Biro’s use of sound-design and retro-flavoured electronica set each song in a particular ‘cinematic’ environment. Lyrically, the themes go from childhood innocence (Faces) to political violence (Activist) to lost loves (When Our Love Was Strong), as well as an ode to Old Europe. When it came to the design of the album, Biro decided to collaborate with friend and world-renowned artist David Breuer-Weil who selected 14 of his drawings, one for each song, to accompany the album.

Performed and recorded by Daniel Biro – Guitars: Rob Palmer
Mastered by Mandy Parnell at Black Saloon Studios

1. FAKE REFUGE (1:17)
2. SUMMER (4:33)
3. FACES (3:58)
4. SAD LITTLE MAN (3:35)
5. HEAVEN (6:21)
6. THIS CASTLE (4:55)
7. JANUARY MAN (5:12)
8. YUE YUE YOU YOU… (4:24)
9. OLD EUROPE (5:14)
10. SARGASSO SEA (6:56)
11. ONE (1:47)
12. ACTIVIST (8:31)
14. TRUE REFUGE (2:10)


Also available as downloads:

Songs of Refuge - Daniel Biro

Scroll to Top