Jonathan Harvey and Frances-Marie Uitti ‘Imaginings’



Out of stock

This re-release documents the historic meeting of leading contemporary composer Jonathan Harvey and internationally renowned cellist Frances-Marie Uitti. ‘Imaginings’ is a set of nine extracts from an improvisation for cello and synthesisers. Although taken from a single and spontaneously-conceived creation, each selected extract concentrates on particular musical ideas and timbric sources. The result is a collection of eerie and evocative sonic landscapes that explore a variety of innovative and often surprising techniques. Recorded in the Harvey studio in 1993, these experiments in sound are only lightly edited – mostly to eliminate background ‘noise’ provided by the family dog Sappho! The cello is retuned but untreated electronically; the synthesisers used are the Yamaha SY77 and DX7 11.

Frances-Marie Uitti: cello – Jonathan Harvey: synthesizers

1. (12:37)
2. (4:42)
3. (0:53)
4. (3:40)
5. (5:08)
6. (5:44)
7. (8:26)
8. (10:25)
9. (3:38)

Also available as downloads:

Imaginings - Jonathan Harvey & Frances-Marie Uitti

Scroll to Top